>Once upon a time..

>Once upon a time there was a girl… Isn’t this how all fairy tales start? There was a girl.. she was lonely/misunderstood/put upon, etc. She tries to escape her horrible life, meets her prince, and every one who deserves a happy ending in the story lives in one ever after.

What REALLY happens after the girl makes a life for herself and marries that aforementioned prince, though? Haven’t you ever wondered what happily ever after looks like? How is that happiness measured? Every moment of every day has to be full of orgasmic joy and unrelenting satisfaction? Does every day have to be overwhelmingly delightful? Is happily ever after some form of eternal bliss free from even minor annoyances? Fairy tales have a way of implying that happily ever after means nothing but happy forever. 

I can answer those questions, because I am the girl in this story. I grew up in a broken home, as most princesses in fairy tales do. I dealt with strife and hardship. I escaped my torment and found my prince charming, and now I am married to him and living my happily ever after. Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately depending on your point of view, it is not what most would imagine. Happily ever after is not defined as never-ending euphoria or life without any problems or complications. Happily ever after is, despite all of the obstacles that may get in the way, knowing that there is no place you would rather be.

This is the story of my happily ever after. My happy ending. My life, with all of it’s ups and downs. All of it’s twists and turns. All of the accomplishments and disappointments, no matter how big or how small. Happiness isn’t defined by the lack of struggle, it is defined as the quality of your life and your relationships despite struggle.

I am very, very happy.  And… I don’t even believe in fairies.

One thought on “>Once upon a time..

  1. >This is basically the reason I subscribe more to the Titanic version of happily ever after. You know, have the great love, then he dies before he can annoy you and then you can spend your life doing fun shit and not sharing the remote.

Leave a Reply

