40 BAGS IN 40 DAYS Declutter Challenge!!!

A friend of mine, Ann Marie, runs this amazing blog called White House Black Shutters, and she is doing an awesome challenge right now that I am so excited about participating in. It’s called 40 BAGS IN 40 DAYS and it’s all about decluttering and decrappifying your space. This is something I DESPERATELY need to do right now. My home is my office, and with two little girls now mobile and running around my house like dirty little banshees, the less I have for them to twirl into a sticky pile of mess the better. I can’t tell you how many times I have spent the last two minutes before a video meeting with colleagues at work pushing an array of toys and toddler clothes out of the frame of my webcam so that when I popped into a meeting  the toddler tornado wasn’t visible.

So… It. Is. ON. Time to fix it! The point of the challenge is to spend Lent simplifying. Every day either fill a bag to donate/trash/sell, or pick one area of your home or office (or both in my case) to clean and organize. I have wrangled a few coworkers, a few family members, and a few friends into doing the challenge with me already, and we are all getting started today!  My first area is my couch which is a very large, very comfortable sectional with this amazing ottoman that is so big we call it baby island… and there is MAYBE 1.5 butts worth of space to actually sit on it. Between the laundry, toys, and other random pieces of random randomness, it has been taken over and no longer serves it’s intended purpose. That all changes as soon as I am done writing this post. I will post my before and after pics when I am done.

If you would like to join the challenge with me, you can find out all of the deets here:
http://www.whitehouseblackshutters.com/40-bags-in-40-days-2013-declutter-challenge/

I have already joined the FB group created for it (there are 400+ people in there and it’s already proving to be very motivational!) and I plan to blog and Instagram (#40bags40days) my progress. Join me and we can help keep each other motivated!

2 thoughts on “40 BAGS IN 40 DAYS Declutter Challenge!!!

  1. I pray that one day I could actually declutter my garage and my kid’s rooms! The problem is my kids (aged 21,24 & 27) live on their own (small apartment) and still don’t want we to get rid of their video games, wooden doll cradle, doll sets, books or train sets, etc. They have an attachment to these items and whenever I whisper the words sell or donate, its like being on trial.

Leave a Reply

