To Die For Guacamole

When I started Whole30 and found out that I could eat as much avocado as I wanted, I went on a hunt for a stellar guacamole recipe. I grew up in the land of authentic Mexican food, and guacamole is one of those things I can eat on almost anything. I attempted a few Whole30 safe recipes and failed miserably, mostly because for some odd reason I spent the first 10 days thinking I couldn’t have salt (fail!), before asking for a good recipe in a Whole30 group I am in. That is when I was graced with the Alton Brown way of making guac. After a few tweaks, I came up with the recipe for the BEST guacamole I have ever had, and I have had a LOT of different guacamole. Seriously. TO. DIE. FOR.

 

Without further ado…

To Die For Guacamole

Ingredients:
6 Haas avocados, halved, seeded and peeled.
2 limes, juiced
1-2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chipotle chili powder
1/2 medium red onion, diced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced (leave in the seeds for extra kick!)
4 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
2 Tbsp cilantro
2 cloves garlic, minced

Directions:
In a large bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice. Mash with a potato masher adding the salt, cumin, and chili powder as you go. Then, fold in the onions, jalapeno, tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

 

 

Leave a Reply

